Executive Leadership

Father John Adams, President & CEO

Father John Adams has directed SOME for more than 40 years. He was ordained in 1969 and received his master's degree in Social Service ('70) at Catholic University of America. After initial assignments as a social worker, he started Christ House, which provides meals, shelter, and crisis intervention to the poor and homeless in Alexandria, VA.

In 1978, Fr. McKenna, SJ, founder of SOME, invited Fr. John to become the Director of SOME. Under his leadership, SOME has grown from a small soup kitchen with one employee and two volunteers to an organization that provides more than 1,000 daily meals and more to those experiencing homelessness and extreme poverty in the city.

Fr. John has often been recognized for his work at SOME, as Washingtonian of the Year, a Freedom Forum Free Spirit, an Olympic Torch Carrier, a Congressional Victory Against Hunger Award recipient, and recipient of an Honorary Doctorate from Marymount University.

Linda Parisi, Chief Development Officer                                                                                                                                                                                Troy Swanda, Chief Operating Officer
Tracey Turner, Chief Human Resources Officer

Operations Team

Suzanne Bond, Chief Administrative Officer
Berinna Doggett, Chief Clinical Officer
Elizabeth Garrison, Director of Compliance and CQI
Nechama Masliansky, Senior Advocacy Advisor
Julia Moran Morton, Chief Housing Development Officer​​​​​​​
Thuan Nguyen, Chief Technical Officer
Rachel Nicholas, Chief Program Officer, Family Services
Emily Price, Chief Program Officer, Center for Employment Training
Belinda Sealey, Chief Program Officer, Single Adult Housing
Daryl Wright, Senior Director, Emergency Services                                                                                                                                                           

Board of Directors

Sr. Mary Bader, Chair, St. Ann’s Center for Children, Youth and Families    
George C. McFarland
, Vice Chair, McFarland and Associates                                                                                      
Sr. Mary Catherine Guiler, Secretary, Substitute Teacher
Stefanie Gerard Cohn, Treasurer, Raffa PC
Jason E. Geno, HR Committee Chair, Human Capital Initiatives                                                                                                                                 Linda Jo Smith, Honorary Member, Former Chairsperson, PEPCO (retired)
Fr. John Adams, Ex-Officio, President, SOME


Audie (Butch) Abernathy, Building Technician Engineer
Kenneth W. Ellison, Attorney
Peggy Gott, Community Advocate
Marie Maser, Community Advocate
Mary Miller, Edison Electric Institute
M. Craig Pascal, BB&T
Olivia B. Payton, Red Top Communications Center
Dr. William Vaughan, DDS, Dentist

Corporate Advisory Board

Patrick Butler, Chair, America’s Public Television Stations
Leslie W. Hortum, Vice Chair, Spencer Stuart


James Assey, National Cable & Telecommunications Association
Angela Bradley, BTI Security
Steve Caldeira, Household & Commercial Products Association
William R. Calhoun, Jr., Clark Construction Group, LLC
Kathleen Walsh Carr
David Chavern, News Media Alliance
Suzanne P. Clark, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Patrick Cleary, NAPEO
William E. Conway, Jr., The Carlyle Group
Julia Cullen, KPMG LLC
Prachee J. Devadas, Synergy Enterprises Inc.
Andrea Dynes, General Dynamics
Penny Eastman, Security Shield LLC
Toby Eckhardt, Focused Image
Alison Engel, Gannett
Terri Fariello, United 
Etta Fielek
Rainey Foster, Leading Authorities, Inc.
Mike Gordon, C.C. Pace
Corey Griffin, 2GIP
Erica Khatchadourian, AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust
William Kilmer, Mortgage Bankers Association
Mekita King, Washington Post
Gerry Lamb
Dennis M. Lucey, AKIMA
Darryl Maxwell, DC Bar Pro Bono Program
James McCarthy, North American Millers’ Association
Larry McCarthy, McCarthy, Hennings, Whalen
Mary Miller, Edison Electric Institute
Michael J. O’Neil, K&L/Gates
Craig Pascal, BB&T
Kathleen Rotondaro
Daniel Schwartz, Bain & Co.
Matthew Shay, National Retail Federation
Mark Shields, Political Commentator
John Sturm
Sanjay Subramanian, PwC
JT Taylor, Hedgeye Risk Management
Otis Tolbert, Aon Risk Solutions
Alisha White, HelmsBriscoe
Thomas Wilbur, Akridge
Michael Williams, Hogan Lovells US, LLP
William Glenn Yarborough, WGY and Associates, LLC

Header photo: SOME Corporate Advisory Board meeting at the Conway Center. Back row, from left to right: Michael Williams, Mike O'Neil, David Chavern, John Sturm, J.T. Taylor, James Assey, Gerry Lamb, Mike Gordon, Bill Calhoun, Jim McCarthy. Front row, from left to right: Alisha White, Penny Eastman, Steve Caldeira, Erica Khatchadourian, Glenn Yarborough, Vice Chair Leslie Hortum, Angela Bradley, Fr. John Adams, Chair Pat Butler, Matt Shay, Dennis Lucey. (partial listing)